Tuesday, 31 May 2016

Review- The Aftermath by R.J Prescott

Eagerly awaited sequel to the bestselling Hurricane – Goodreads finalist for Best Debut


R. J. Prescott

Published on 2nd June | Paperback Original £8.99

**Contains brand new BONUS content – exclusive to the print edition

When you’ve got nothing, you’ve got nothing to lose. But what happens when you have everything you ever wanted? You fight to keep it.

Cormac “the Hurricane” O’Connell’s star is on the rise. Billed as the most promising young boxer of his generation, his new career is taking him to places he never dreamed. But O’Connell only needs one thing in life: his wife. In her final year of college, Em cannot follow him around the world but together they make it work.

Just when everything they ever wanted is on the horizon, the past resurfaces to haunt them and O’Connell realises that justice might not be a part of his happy ever after.

He couldn’t protect Em once before, but in the aftermath of the hurricane, he will make sure that never happens again.

A swoon-worthy romance perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Nora Roberts.

My Review 

I really enjoyed the first book Hurricane so I was looking forward to reading the Aftermath. 

It's pick up right where Hurricane finished. This book focuses more On Cormac's battles and dealing with his past. Cormac and Emily are trying to maintain their relationship even with Cormac's rise in the ring. All the other characters are also back and I must say I loved the group together and how they support one another. The banter was also great between them, I could almost visualise them all messing around with their banter, the author really brought the characters alive. 

This one is told entirely from Cormac's POV which was great because we get see into his mind, especially his alpha male traits. The story had a good pace and their was a good mix of his relationship with Emily and his fights. There was also plenty of hot and steamy scenes as well as a few emotional ones. 

I really hope some of the other characters get a story because I would like to see more of this gang. 

Overall a great read that I would highly recommend reading. 

* I received a ARC in exchange for an honest review 


Boxing and romance easily go hand-in-hand. Prescott delivers a knockout with The Aftermath’ Heidi McLaughlin

‘Sexy, exciting, and packed full of emotion. Prescott delivers another hard-hitting novel that’ll leave you breathless for more. Cormac “the Hurricane” O’Connell can fight in my corner any day!’  L.P. Dover

R. J. Prescott was born in Cardiff, South Wales and studied law at the University of Bristol. Four weeks before graduation she fell in love, and stayed. Ten years later she convinced her husband to move back to Cardiff where they live with their two sons.  Her debut novel The Hurricane has sold about 65000 copies so far and the author’s profile continues to grow. Visit R. J. online on www.rjprescott.com.

Amazon link https://www.amazon.co.uk/Aftermath-Hurricane-2-R-Prescott/dp/0349411328/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1464257919&sr=1-1&keywords=the+aftermath+rj+prescott

No comments:

Post a Comment